Eating Crow

Standard

I don’t know if this happens to you, but I frequently have pronounced opinions that I have to just as drastically revise when irrefutable evidence proves that my original stance was  DEAD OFF!

It happened to me big time yesterday.

I attended the extraordinary creativity and technology conference, C2-MTL, that took place in Montreal from the 21st-23rd May (a separate blog to follow on my experiences there).

Sir Richard Branson was the conference’s closing speaker. I had a coveted front row seat.

I was fully prepared to catch him out being a conceited ass masquerading as a cool, lovable, good guy. This bias was further exacerbated by the throngs of unhinged female fans that, while waiting for the talk to begin, were acting like panting Beliebers despite appearing  well past the age for that sort of  embarrassing display of adulation.

And I am here to say, having been in the man’s presence, I have unabashedly joined their ranks.

He is quite simply PERFECT.

Branson is kind, smiley, risk-taking (Virgin Galactic!!) , handsome, a little diffident in the nicest way, confident without arrogance, incredibly considerate to his besotted audience, laid-back, hugely philanthropic, wildly successful, adventuresome, patrician… and that’s just for starters!

Not an ounce of the arrogant, brash, know-it-all, showboater I expected.

Have I been schooled!

I took this shot of him at the conference from my front row seat. The shot is terrible, my hand must have been trembling:

IMG_6390

Sigh….

About novelkudos

After working as an interior designer for 20 years, I am putting out a novel that borrows heavily from my experiences in the design trenches working in New York City and San Francisco. To protect those who inspired my characters I am writing under a pseudonym. I am a lover of food, books, both hi and low-brow, travel, yoga, teenagers (especially when they aren't mine!), entrepreneurialism, astrology and pretty much anything that is credibly woo-woo (and no, to me that isn't a contradiction in terms!).

Leave a Reply

